To the future

In a few hours the future begins. After the summer break, I am starting as Head of English and Media at John O’Gaunt in Hungerford. Although I am sad to leave behind friends, I couldn’t be more excited. The prospect is daunting but also thrilling; to be able to run something myself is all I have wanted for the past 2 or 3 years.

I have only been in a few times but I already have a sense that I am going to be working with a group of teachers and leaders who are passionate about learning, teaching and more importantly the future of their students. It is a small school and with that comes a much greater sense of community and collective drive. 

One of things I am planning to do is write more on this blog and use it once a week as a diary of the first year of being a Head of Department. I am hoping to add other things along the way as well.

I know the first term is going to be hard work and the first year full of new challenges but I am ready for what it throw at me.

To the future…

Leave a Reply

